Some sort of recap. Happy Summer

Hello again, cool people (of course I mean this figuratively ;) I’m well aware it’s high summer)


It’s been a while, and I’ve been off the radar not enjoying Germany’s lack of summer weather, but enjoying enough of the sights and opportunities to make up for that. I missed my goal of steadily building my mileage through the end of August, but I actually appreciated a summer not feeling pressured to compete my training plan as well as possible.

Really, I really enjoyed just letting go of running for a few months.

I found a happy place between marathon training and not running: running a few miles a few times a week at the pace/intervals that seem comfortable and compatible with my lifestyle. I truly learned to use running as a stress release and fell in love with it again. Taking competition out of the equation helped me to appreciate the way running makes me feel and not have it as an added source of stress.

Still, as a life of routine and work looms again on the horizon, and as my foot feels as though it’s finally healed, I’m starting to think about a few fall races and having some sort of running goals. I wouldn’t mind averaging 4 runs and at least 25 miles a week soon. I don’t think this negates how I’ve learned to think abou running again, I just think it means I’m looking for a bit more structure in my life again, and a running plan helps me with that. So far I’m not considering beyond 20km. There’s a running series in Oct.-Nov. I’m eyeing, and then maybe some shorter races with the bro and BF, if they’re interested ;)

My base? Let’s see: longest run since May was just short of 8 miles. Fastest run was an 800m interval (5th of 7) in 3:01. Best runs were a 6 miler in 49 mins and 2 miler in 13:12. Besides running though, I’ve done a lot of walking (Europe: that word explains everything as far as miles logged walking, doesn’t it?), biking and swimming. I averaged 6 days of activity a week, so I’m not unfit. And I did kind of build slowly, averaging 15 miles a week and only topping at 22.

So yep. That’s my return to the running world. Still trying to work up the effort for my real world blog (so much to write, so little time), but we’ll see. :-)

Hope everyone is uninjured and fall training is going swell! – Dorothea

8 thoughts on “Some sort of recap. Happy Summer

  1. sarahdudek80 August 15, 2017 / 13:58

    So great to see a post from you. I am so happy to hear that you are back running and doing it on your terms. As wonderful as training and races can be, sometimes it is so nice to take them out of the mix and run for the sake of running. So Germany had a lack of summer too? We had a weird one here too. Bummer.

    Liked by 1 person

    • wanderwolf August 17, 2017 / 06:35

      Holding out for a late summer in September, but yeah. Thanks for the comment and looking forward to catching up on your blog!

      Like

  2. Paula August 16, 2017 / 02:12

    Yay, so happy you are well!! And your running is looking good too, nice and easy and injury-free!! 🤗 Good to see you!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. 50in50marathonquest August 21, 2017 / 05:44

    Great to see an update!! I like that you have been able to adjust your approach to running so it fits your lifestyle…at least for the summer! So many times, and for so long, we make our life fit the running and training plans! Having said, training has pretty much been a non-starter, just one injury after another…maybe, I’m back, hope so…got a couple half’s and full’s in the not too far distant future! Enjoy the rest of the summer!

    Liked by 1 person

    • wanderwolf August 24, 2017 / 15:58

      You too! And you’ll get back at it. We runners are just too addicted.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

